Ardaitheach

Standard

ARDAITHEACH

Within a gentle heart, a tree
Adorned neither by leaves nor songs
Silently sculpted with hands wet from time
And pain.

Demiurgos.

To climb knowing you will fall
To seek knowing you are not owed answers.

Stop… stop knowing… enough
Why should I know of the pain to come?
Chosen this path is not
Yet… it is mine.

Wave embracing the shore, hear me
I am tired
Let me sink

Wind embracing the mountain, hear me
I am broken
Let me fall

Sun embracing my soul, hear me
I am no more
Let me burn

Demiurgos.

Out of the depths I call thee, Child
Quoth the Sea
To the shore of impossible you shall walk
Believe and forget your plea

(You are not listening)

Out of the clouds I call thee, Child
Quoth Ouranos
There is no flight without a fall
Reclaim your wings

(You are not listening)

Out of the flames I call thee, Child
Quoth Helios
Embraced by my flame you shall be
Not yet… not yet.

Make your Choice, Child

Aye.

\\//

Ardaitheach means Ascending in Gaelic

//\\

*

This sculpture started as a concept on August 18th, 2022.
I began creating it on September 15th, 2023.
It was finished on Ides of March (15th), 2024.

Ardaitheach Dimensions: 30 x 18 cm, 57 cm height.
Clay with patina.

*

 

 

BTCOWIK
Spira / Nick © March 2024

 

About Spira

A Renaissance human. Part healer, part B/W photographer, part artist, part sigh of a writer, part explorer of guitar & piano landscapes, always in love with music..."Music is the fabric that clothes our lives" as Denise Farley once wrote. All done with the dedication, intensity & passion of an imperfect speck of cosmic debris.

20 responses »

  1. This is spectacular and so intricately detailed. I got the impression the figure was trying to ascend to a higher plane by making the climb. Although this post has a very Gaelic theme, the sculpture’s texture reminds me of the bark of the giant Kauri trees I saw whilst in New Zealand last year. And one particular tree named Tāne Mahuta, found in Waipoua Forest of Northland Region, seemed to reach to the skies and is thought to be between 1,250 and 2,500 years – a truly magical sight as is your art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tane Mahuta, The God of the Forest!! What a majestic being! I am so glad you got to be in its presence, FT.
      I have no words in response to your reaction to Ardaitheach, other than a big, heartfelt Whakawhetai koe.

      Like

  2. You are artistry. It flows from you like artisan spring water from the depth of earth. I’m sure this was an exhausting process but the result is your soul’s achievement. And the poem is exquisite. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was an exciting revelation of your magnificent object, Nick! Exciting in that I followed individual details on FB. How long you worked on it! And it paid off! The text is of course also of the finest quality. Have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What is art but the soul’s expression whether via written word, audio/visual expression or through sculpture? Fortunately for us, you’ve given us all three, Nick.

    Your verse? Incredibly moving. Beautiful. Life. A journey. Climbing, reaching, bending (in defeat as well as in strength). Is it not all part of our individual desire to ascend? And if we’re lucky, our outstretched hands are taken by another to help go a little higher pulling us up, like a spotter at the gym with the lightest touch under our elbows…one more rep. So much in this piece, Nick and the detail! I love the figure at the base with companion. A dog/wolf.

    Now. Let’s talk about “Penumbra”. How intense was that?! I could be wrong, but I’m of the opinion, that particular selection chose you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ” And if we’re lucky, our outstretched hands are taken by another to help go a little higher” … the path towards the acceptance of that offering is not as easy as it seems… like everything, it is a choice to receive that life’s blessing.

      And yes…of course you are exactly right about “Penumbra”…it did choose me at exactly the right moment.

      This creation has been a journey in more levels than I can present here.
      Thank you, Denise, for riding alongside.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Tuesday -the Wakefield Doctrine- | the Wakefield Doctrine

If writing is the painting of a voice, pick up your brush and paint a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.