IAΣΙΣ

Standard

iasis (ίασις): therapy, the result of healing

Ancient Hellenes were responsible for liberating medicine from the bonds of divine will & superstition towards natural causality.

The text is a part of the Hippocratic oath saying “…I will come for the benefit of the sick, remaining free of all intentional injustice”.

On wood, clay, sculptured plaster with patina 20 x 30 cm

\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\

Οι αρχαίοι Έλληνες κατόρθωσαν να απελευθερώσουν την ιατρική από τα δεσμά της δεισιδαιμονίας και να την αναπτύξουν στη βάση φυσικών αιτίων.

Το κείμενο είναι μέρος του όρκου του Ιπποκράτη : “…θα χρησιμοποιώ τη θεραπεία για να βοηθώ τους ασθενείς κατά τη δύναμη και τη κρίση μου, αλλά ποτέ για να βλάψω ή να αδικήσω.”

Επί ξύλου, πηλός και σκαλιστός γύψος με πατίνα 20 x 30 εκ.

4 responses »

  1. That is pretty powerful. I love how the piece has flow to it – an energy, like healing itself. Even with unskilled hands we can all be healers by sending the love and light, if only we believe and have the will.
    I think I see the ancient staff of healing entwined by two serpents? In the bottom right?
    Bravo for this tender scene, my friend 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes it is the Rod of Asclepius.
      Healing my friend is a big discussion and all I can say is that I had my part of experiencing that.
      I am so glad you felt so about this creation.
      Love and light as you wisely said..

      Liked by 2 people

If writing is the painting of a voice, pick up your brush and paint a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.